CERTIFICATE OF RECOGNITION

Dan Macon September 24, 2024

The Nevada County Board of Supervisors takes great pleasure in recognizing Dan Macon for his many years of dedicated service to Nevada County Agriculture.

In 2017, Dan was hired as the UC Cooperative Extension Livestock and Natural Resources advisor for Placer, Nevada, Sutter, and Yuba Counties. In 2020, Dan became the County Director for Placer and Nevada Counties while holding the Livestock and Natural Resources advisor position. Dan's Curriculum Vitae includes a bachelor's degree in agricultural and managerial economics from UC Davis and a master's degree in integrated resource management from Colorado State University.

Aside from Dan's career with the UC system, Dan has served in many positions within the agricultural industry. In the early 1990s, Dan was hired as the California Cattlemen's Association membership director and was quickly promoted to assistant vice president just a few short years later. Dan then served as the first-ever executive director for the California Rangeland Trust, the executive director of the Nevada County Land Trust (now known as Bear Yuba Land Trust), and President of the California Wool Growers Association and the California-Pacific Section of the Society for Range Management.

While Dan served in many vital roles, his love and dedication to researching grazing livestock and educating others on the benefits of targeted grazing was his true calling. Dan's focus on drought management, predator-livestock coexistence, small ruminant production systems, and water quality benefited many Nevada County ranchers. Furthermore, Dan was instrumental in creating the Nevada-Yuba-Placer County Disaster Livestock Access Program, a program awarded the CSAC Challenge award in 2022.

Therefore, the Nevada County Board of Supervisors would like to express deep appreciation to Dan Macon for his many years of dedication and excellent service to Nevada County Agriculture and wish him the best of luck in his future endeavors.

Hardy Bullock, Chair	
Heidi Hall, District I	Edward C. Scofield, District II
Lisa Swarthout, District III	Susan K. Hoek, District IV