CERTIFICATE OF RECOGNITION

Ed Scofield

December 10, 2024

The Nevada County Board of Supervisors takes great pleasure in recognizing Ed Scofield for more than 36 years of public service, including four terms as Nevada County's District II Supervisor from 2008 to 2024.

Ed was elected to the Grass Valley City Council in 1975 and held office until 1982 when he was appointed as the Secretary / Manager of the 17th District Agricultural Association; better known as the CEO of the Nevada County Fair. He served as the Fairgrounds CEO until 2008 when he was elected as the Nevada County District II Supervisor to serve his first four-year term from 2009-2012. During that time, he served as Vice-Chair in 2010 and Chair in 2011. In 2012, Ed was elected to another term and served as Chair in 2015. In 2017, he was elected for his third term through 2020 and then in 2021, he was elected again to serve his fourth term, serving as the Chair in 2023.

During his tenure, Ed contributed as a member of the Nevada County Transportation Commission and Transit Services Commission, the Nevada County Airport Land Use Commission (NCALUC), and the Northern Sierra Air Quality Management District Board (NSAQMDB). Moreover, he was a member of the Board of the Nevada County Economic Resource Council (ERC) and the Workforce Development Board also known as the Northern Rural Training and Employment Consortium (NoRTEC). He also served as the county representative to the California State Association of Counties (CSAC) and as its Treasurer on its Executive Committee, where he received the distinguished CSAC Circle of Service Award for his service in 2022.

Among his many accomplishments, Ed led efforts to strengthen economic development in Nevada County including working hard with constituents, staff, and his colleagues leveraging balance towards legal enforcement, economic vitality, and public safety on developing the County's policy and ordinance on cannabis cultivation, often demonstrating an ability to listen and guide constructive dialogue that promoted equity and reason. Other accomplishments of note include advocating for wildfire insurance reform and holding the first joint Town Hall Meeting in 2019 with California Insurance Commissioner Lara on the crisis of the availability and affordability of wildfire insurance; establishing the County's second Municipal Advisory Council known as the South County Area Municipal Advisory Council to provide a formal mechanism and community conduit to update the Greater Higgins Area Plan; leading and collaborating with Caltrans and the Highway 49 Safety coalition to designate Highway 49 as a Safety Corridor to increase safety infrastructure and California Highway Patrol (CHP) highway enforcement; helping to navigate complex and often controversial development projects including Rincon Del Rio, Darkhorse, Dog Bar Bridge replacement, and the widening of Combie Road and subsequent sewer extension; directly supporting challenges of special districts including the Bear River Recreation and Park District; approving the County's first Recreation & Resiliency Master Plan and Economic Development Action Plan; and engaging with the community to empower staff, the Public Health Department, and the business community alike, during the unprecedented outbreak of the coronavirus (COVID-19).

Of all Ed's accomplishments, perhaps the most notable is the long-standing impression and precedent that he has set on the importance of working with others, whether in agreement or disagreement, through kindness and collegiality. His approach is recognized across the state as an example of how to make meaningful impact while holding intact the core tenets of public service and his approach stands as a model for the Nevada County Board of Supervisors and other counties across the state.

Therefore, the Nevada County Board of Supervisors extends its deepest gratitude and congratulates Supervisor Ed Scofield for his more than 36 years of public service. He will be greatly missed by his fellow board members, staff, and the public alike, and we wish him the best in his future endeavors.

Heidi Hall, District I	Lisa Swarthout, District III
Susan K. Hoek, District IV	Hardy Bullock, Chair, District V