CERTIFICATE OF RECOGNITION Bear River High School Agriculture Mechanics Team

The Nevada County Board of Supervisors takes great pleasure in recognizing the Bear River High School Agriculture Mechanics Team for winning First Place at the National Future Farmers of America (FFA) Agriculture Technology and Mechanical Systems Career Development Event (CDE) that was held in conjunction with the 89th National FFA Convention & Expo in Indianapolis, Indiana on October 19-22, 2016.

The Bear River High School Agriculture Mechanics Team included Jared Kilgore, Alex Nelson, Caleb Marsh and Justin Kilgore, who were all placed in the Gold Category out of 7,859 local chapters and over 649,355 members across the United States.

At the event, students applied classroom knowledge to real-life scenarios that included a written exam, a team event, demonstration on problem-solving skills, and hands-on performance activities in areas of environmental and natural resource systems, machinery and equipment systems, structural systems, energy systems and electrical systems. To qualify for the event, the Bear River High School Agricultural Mechanics Team competed with other local chapters in the state and won in order to participate at the national level.

Students also competed on an individual level with Jared Kilgore placing 2nd in the nation and Alex Nelson placing 3rd in the nation. Caleb Marsh and Justin Kilgore placed 23rd and 25th in the nation, respectively. Alex also earned 1st Place in welding in the nation and Bear River was the top welding team in the nation.

The Bear River High School Agriculture Mechanics Team's achievement positively reflects FFA's mission to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education.

The Nevada County Board of Supervisors congratulates Bear River High School, Coaches Tim Reid and Steve Paasch, and the Bear River High School Agriculture Mechanics Team on winning First Place at the FFA Agriculture Technology and Mechanical Systems CDE and being national champions.

Hank Weston, Chairman

Heidi Hall, District I

Edward C. Scofield, District II

Dan Miller, District III

Richard Anderson, District V

January 24, 2016