## CERTIFICATE OF RECOGNITION Stephanie Ortiz

The County of Nevada Board of Supervisors takes great pleasure in recognizing Stephanie Ortiz for her significant contribution to higher education and workforce development through her leadership at Sierra College and in our community.

Before beginning her 32-year career in higher education, Stephanie worked in human resources and provided management consulting and training. However, she always wanted to be a teacher and eventually took an opportunity to teach at Mt. San Antonio College in Southern California and, later, at Cal State Fresno's business school. In 1990, she moved to Auburn and began working as a part-time faculty member with Sierra College's business department, where she served from 1991 to 1998. She taught in full-time faculty status from 1998 until 2002, when she was offered and accepted the interim associate dean role.

From there, she became the dean of business and technology at Sierra College's main campus in Rocklin, and then, in July of 2009, executive dean of the Nevada County campus where she served until her retirement in June 2022. During her time as executive dean, she spearheaded numerous successful initiatives, including connecting community organizations and regional high schools to the Nevada County campus, offering targeted career technical education, and growing Community Education and Osher Lifelong Learning Institute classes.

Beyond her work with Sierra College, Stephanie has also contributed to workforce development in Nevada County through her ongoing role as board president of Nevada County Economic Resource Council, and as chair of the Nevada Joint Union High School District's Career Technical Education District Advisory Committee.

The County of Nevada Board of Supervisors hereby expresses its appreciation and gratitude to Stephanie Ortiz for her significant contribution to higher education and workforce development in Nevada County and wishes her a wonderful new era.

Susan K. Hoek, Chair

Heidi Hall, District I

Dan Miller, District III

Ed Scofield, District IV

Hardy Bullock, District V