## CERTIFICATE OF RECOGNITION Penn Valley Fire Department Auxiliary

The County of Nevada Board of Supervisors takes great pleasure in recognizing the Penn Valley Fire Department Auxiliary for their outstanding contributions to the community for raising a record-setting \$250,000 in 2024 and donating it to the Penn Valley Fire Protection District. Through their dedication and hard work with the Thrift Shop, they have played a crucial role in ensuring that our community remains safe and well-supported.

The Penn Valley Fire Department Auxiliary operates the Thrift Shop, which was formed over 62 years ago and is located behind Fire Station 43 on Spenceville Road in Penn Valley. On January 7, 2025, the Penn Valley Fire Department Auxiliary presented a check for \$250,000 to the Penn Valley Fire Protection District, which shattered all their previous annual donation records. This generous donation represents a sizable boost for the Penn Valley Fire Protection District's vehicle and equipment fund, as the Auxiliary's donations are not used for personnel or operating expenses but instead allow the District to acquire critical equipment it might not otherwise be able to purchase. The Auxiliary continues to donate increasingly large amounts year after year, with one example being a donation in a recent year of \$178,000 to help the District purchase a replacement ambulance.

The incredible success of the Penn Valley Fire Department Auxiliary Thrift Shop is attributed to being operated by an entirely volunteer staff, maintaining low overhead costs, receiving high-quality donated items from the community, as well as additional contributions from a donation jar located in the Thrift Shop. These remarkable efforts to raise funds will ensure that the District remains well-equipped and prepared to serve the community.

Therefore, the Nevada County Board of Supervisors takes great pleasure in recognizing the Penn Valley Fire Department Auxiliary for their steadfast dedication and incredible contributions to the safety and well-being of our community.

Heidi Hall, Chair

Robb Tucker, District II

Lisa Swarthout, District III

Susan K. Hoek, District IV

Hardy Bullock, District V