CERTIFICATE OF RECOGNITION Dr. Peter Van Houten and the Sierra Family Health Center 40th Years of Service

The County of Nevada Board of Supervisors takes great pleasure in recognizing Dr. Peter Van Houten and the Sierra Family Health Center for forty years of providing innovative health care services to Nevada County, especially North San Juan and the greater San Juan Ridge community.

In 1982, Dr. Van Houten founded a rural private medical practice in North San Juan, offering a fullservice family practice where he served as a full-time physician, as well as Medical Director and Chief Executive Officer. The practice had two physicians, two nurse practitioners and over 7,000 medical patient visits a year with 24/7 after-hours calls. In 1994, he donated his practice and founded Sierra Family Medical Clinic as a non-profit corporation and oversaw the addition of integrated behavioral health and dental care on site, while doubling overall capacity.

Pioneering the integrated healthcare model, Dr. Van Houten was honored in 2005 with the Integration of Behavioral Health in Primary Care Award from Northern Sierra Rural Health Network and has taught "Integrating Behavioral Health into Primary Care" courses at numerous conferences, including for the National Rural Health Association and the California Primary Care Association.

In 2009, Dr. Van Houten received the California State Rural Health Association Rural Champion of the Year Award which is given annually to only one physician in California. Beginning in 2011, Sierra Family Health Center was the first agency in the county to provide medication-assisted treatment for patients with opioid use disorders. Dr. Van Houten pioneered telemedicine, long before its current need, receiving the 2004 Telemedicine Implementation Award from Northern Sierra Rural Health Network.

Therefore, it is with great pleasure that the County of Nevada Board of Supervisors honors and recognizes Dr. Van Houten and the Sierra Family Health Center for their dedication to excellence and their significant contribution to the community.

Susan K. Hoek, Chair

Heidi Hall, District 1

Dan Miller, District III

Edward C. Scofield, District II

Hardy Bullock, District V