

RESOLUTION No. 21-138

OF THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF THE COUNTY OF NEVADA

RESOLUTION ACCEPTING THE NOMINATION AND DESIGNATION OF THE POET LAUREATE, KIRSTEN CASEY, BY NEVADA COUNTY ARTS COUNCIL, AS THE THIRD NEVADA COUNTY POET LAUREATE

WHEREAS, the California Arts Council (CAC) was established in 1976 for the purposes of advancing California through the arts and creativity; and

WHEREAS, Nevada County Arts Council has been designated as Nevada County's State-Local Partner in the CAC State-Local Partnership Program (SLP); and

WHEREAS, in 2001 the passage of AB 113 established a formal California Poet Laureate position with the purpose to inspire an emerging generation of literary artists, and to educate Californians about influential poets and authors; and

WHEREAS, the advancement of poetry, literacy and the arts help build and enhance healthy communities by promoting imagination, creativity, and cultural exchange; and

WHEREAS, a Poet Laureate is an officially appointed poet who is expected to compose or recite poetry for special events and occasions thereby promoting reading, writing, and appreciation of poetry within the community; and

WHEREAS, on March 28, 2017, by Resolution 17-150, the Nevada County Board of Supervisors established a Poet Laurate Program in Nevada County, which program was subsequently amended pursuant to Resolution 18-121 on March 27, 2018 with Molly Fisk serving as the first Nevada County Poet Laureate; and

WHEREAS, on April 9, 2019 the Board of Supervisors adopted Resolution 19-141 accepting the nomination and designation of Chris Olander as the second Nevada County Poet Laureate.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Supervisors of the County of Nevada does hereby accept the nomination and designation of the Poet Laureate, Kirsten Casey, by Nevada County Arts Council as the Third Nevada County Poet Laureate.

PASSED AND ADOPTED by the Board of Supervisors of the County of Nevada at a regular meeting of said Board, held on the <u>27th</u> day of <u>April</u>, <u>2021</u>, by the following vote of said Board:

Ayes: Noes:	Supervisors Heidi Hall, Edward Scofield, Dan Miller, Susan K. Hoek and Hardy Bullock. None.
Absent:	None.
Abstain:	None.

ATTEST:

JULIE PATTERSON HUNTER Clerk of the Board of Supervisors

By

Dan Miller, Chair

4/27/2021 cc:

COB* NCAC* www* bb