## COUNTY OF NEVADA

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

## **BOARD OF SUPERVISORS**



Heidi Hall, 1st District
Vice-Chair Edward C. Scofield, 2nd District
Dan Miller, 3rd District
Chair Wm. "Hank" Weston, 4th District
Richard Anderson, 5th District

Julie Patterson Hunter, Clerk of the Board

## NEVADA COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

**Board Agenda Memo** 

**DATE OF MEETING:** March 28, 2017

**SUBJECT:** Resolution appointing Board of Supervisors Successors in a Declared Emergency.

**<u>RECOMMENDATION</u>**: Approve the attached Resolution appointing the following Successors:

District I Peter Van Zant

District II Laton M. "Monty" East

District III John Spencer

District IV None

District V Carole Sesko

**<u>FUNDING</u>**: Not Applicable.

**BACKGROUND:** Pursuant to Section A-III 1.4 of the Nevada County Administrative Code and Section 8638 of the Government Code, the Board of Supervisors may designate up to three standby officers for each Board member should that Board member be determined deceased, missing or so seriously injured as to be unable to perform duties in a Declared Emergency. These designees are currently a part of the Continuity of Government Plan within the County's Emergency Plan.

Mr. Peter Van Zant, District I Successor, is a longtime resident of Nevada City. Mr. Van Zant served two terms as Nevada County District I Supervisor, from 1997-2004, and currently serves as a member of the Sierra Nevada Alliance Advisory Board.

Mr. Laton M. "Monty" East, District II Successor, is a long time resident of Nevada County and Lake of the Pines, and has been a fulltime Realtor Associate for 21 years with Gateway Real Estate. He is a member of the Nevada and Placer County Board of Realtors, member and Past President of Grass Valley Rotary, and is involved with the Grass Valley Chamber of Commerce, Nevada County Business Association, Law Enforcement & Fire Protection Council and United Way.

950 Maidu Avenue, Suite 200, Nevada City CA 95959-8617 phone: 530.265.1480 | fax: 530.265.9836 | toll free: 888.785.1480 | email: <u>bdofsupervisors@co.nevada.ca.us</u>

website: http://www.mynevadacounty.com/nc/bos

Mr. John Spencer, District III Successor, is a longtime Grass Valley resident and professional land surveyor. He served two terms as Nevada County Supervisor, from 2004-2010. As Supervisor, John served on a number of advisory boards and commissions including: the Economic Resource Council, the Northern Sierra Air Quality Management District Board, the Northern Rural Training Employment Consortium (NoRTEC), and Nevada County's delegate to the Regional Council of Rural Counties. In 2010 Mr. Spencer received an award from NoRTEC recognizing his leadership in transforming workforce development programs in Nevada County.

Ms. Carole Sesko, District V Successor, has lived in the North Tahoe/Truckee area since 1979 and as a result is familiar with the residents of Eastern Nevada County as well as the issues affecting Supervisor Anderson's District. She is a graduate of U.C. Davis and has extensive involvement as a volunteer with local nonprofit organizations and governmental agencies.

Therefore, please approve the Resolution appointing the successors as designated by the individual Board members.

**Item Initiated and Approved by:** Julie Patterson Hunter, Clerk of the Board

Submittal Date: March 6, 2017