

RESOLUTION No. 24-427

OF THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF THE COUNTY OF NEVADA

RESOLUTION APPROVING AN AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE COUNTY OF NEVADA AND THE FRANCHISE TAX BOARD'S COURT-ORDERED DEBT COLLECTIONS PROGRAM (FTB-COD), FOR THE PURPOSE OF THE COLLECTION OF UNPAID COURT-ORDERED FINES FOR THE PERIOD OF AUGUST 1, 2024 THROUGH JULY 31, 2027, AND AUTHORIZING THE DISTRICT ATTORNEY TO EXECUTE THE AGREEMENT

WHEREAS, the Franchise Tax Board will collect court-ordered fines, monetary sanctions, forfeitures and penalties on behalf of Nevada County Victims Restitution; and

WHEREAS, the term of this Agreement will be from August 1, 2024, or upon approval, whichever is later, through July 31, 2027; and

WHEREAS, the Agreement is authorized under California Revenue and Taxation Code (R&TC) sections 19280 through 19283 and Penal Code sections 1463.010 through 1463.012; and

WHEREAS, payments to cases referred to FTB-COD for collections and accepted by FTB-COD are subject to an Administrative Fee of 15% of the payment amount as provided for in R&TC section 19282; and

WHEREAS, the Administrative Fee is paid from the Collections budget and these services were included in the fiscal year 2024/25 adopted budget; and

WHEREAS, the Administrative Fees will not exceed \$1,000 per year.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT HEREBY RESOLVED that the Board of Supervisors of the County of Nevada approves an Agreement between the County of Nevada and the Franchise Tax Board's Court-Ordered Debt Collections Program (FTB-COD), for the purpose of the collections of unpaid court-ordered fines for Victim Restitution for the period of August 1, 2024, through July 31, 2027, and authorizing the District Attorney to execute the agreement and any additional documents related to the operation of the FTB-COD Collections Program.

Administrative Fee Funding:

Collections- 0101102054131000/521520

PASSED AND ADOPTED by the Board of Supervisors of the County of Nevada at a regular meeting of said Board, held on the <u>6th</u> day of <u>August 2024</u>, by the following vote of said Board:

Ayes: Noes:	Supervisors Heidi Hall, Edward C. Scofield, Lisa Swarthout, Susan Hoek, and Hardy Bullock. None.
Absent:	None.
Abstain:	None.
Recuse:	None.

ATTEST:

TINE MATHIASEN Chief Deputy Clerk of the Board of Supervisors

By: Com, Deputy COB

201

Hardy Bullock, Chair