

BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

Vice Chair Heidi Hall, 1st District Edward C. Scofield, 2nd District Lisa Swarthout, 3rd District Susan Hoek, 4th District Chair Hardy Bullock, 5th District

Jeffrey Thorsby, Chief of Staff/Clerk of the Board

NEVADA COUNTY BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

BOARD AGENDA MEMO

MEETING DATE: February 20, 2024

TO: Board of Supervisors

FROM: Jeffrey Thorsby, Chief of Staff/Clerk of the Board

SUBJECT: Approve the reappointments of Dee Murphy, as Chair to the Board

of Supervisors Representative, and Maralee Nelder and Jeffrey Guyton as Board of Supervisor Representatives, to the Board of Trustees of the Law Library for one-year term ending January 31,

2025

RECOMMENDATION: Approve the reappointments of Dee Murphy as Chair of the Board of Supervisors representative, and Maralee Nelder and Jeffrey Guyton as Board of Supervisors representatives, to the Board of Trustees of the Law Library for one-year terms ending January 31, 2025.

FUNDING: N/A

BACKGROUND:

Currently, there are three positions available on the Board of Trustees of the Law Library for one-year terms ending January 31, 2024. These positions were advertised and posted for a minimum of ten days at the following places: The Board of Supervisors Chambers Bulletin Board, the Board of Supervisors office, and the County website. Notice was also posted at the Truckee Town Hall, and the District V Board of Supervisors office in Truckee.

Dee Murphy submitted an application for reappointment as Chair of the Board of Supervisors Representative to the Board of Trustees of the Law Library on January 3, 2024. Dee was first appointed to this position on January 22, 2008.

Maralee Nelder submitted an application for reappointment as Board of Supervisors representative to the Board of Trustees of the Law Library on January 10, 2024. Maralee was first appointed to this position on May 25, 2021.

Jeffrey Guyton submitted an application for reappointment as Board of Supervisors representative to the Board of Trustees of the Law Library on January 24, 2024. Jeffrey was first appointed as Board of Supervisors representative on May 8, 2018.

All applicants are members in good standing and recommended for reappointment by the Board of Trustees of the Law Library.

Please consider approving the reappointments of Dee Murphy, Maralee Nelder and Jeffrey Guyton to the Board of Trustees of the Law Library for one-year terms ending January 31, 2025.

Item Initiated: Claire Swanson, Deputy Clerk to the Board Approved: Jeffrey Thorsby, Chief of Staff/Clerk of the Board

Submittal Date: February 6, 2024