

## RESOLUTION No.

## OF THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF THE COUNTY OF NEVADA

RESOLUTION MAKING APPOINTMENTS IN LIEU OF JUNE 7, 2016 PRESIDENTIAL PRIMARY ELECTION FOR THE NEVADA COUNTY DEMOCRATIC AND REPUBLICAN CENTRAL COMMITTEES

WHEREAS, California Elections Code Sections 7228 and 7423 provide that "if the elections official, on the 73<sup>rd</sup> day prior to the primary elections, finds that the number of candidates nominated for election to a committee from an Assembly or Supervisorial district does not exceed the number of candidates to be elected from that Assembly or Supervisorial district, the designation of the office and the names of the candidates shall not be printed on this party's ballot in the Assembly or Supervisorial district, unless there is filed with the elections official, not later than 20 days after the final date for filing nomination papers for the positions, a petition indicating that a write-in campaign will be conducted for the office and signed by 25 registered voters affiliated with the political party involved. In lieu thereof, the Board of Supervisors shall declare elected the candidates who have been nominated, and those candidates shall be entitled to receive certificates of election in the same manner as other candidates elected to a committee"; and

WHEREAS, no petition indicating that a write-in campaign will be conducted for the office and signed by 25 registered voters affiliated with the political party involved was filed; and

WHEREAS, the following persons have been nominated as Democratic and Republican Central Committee Members, and the number of individuals nominated does not exceed the number of candidates to be elected by Supervisorial district:

Dennis Sloate Peter Minett Jim Firth Sushila Mertens Nancy L. Brost Cynthia Hren Lura S. James Gregory A. Marks Deborah Wilder Donna Burley David Collins Christopher R. Hansen Fran Freedle	Democratic Central Committee Democratic Central Committee Democratic Central Committee Democratic Central Committee Republican Central Committee	District 1 District 3 District 4 District 1 District 1 District 1 District 1 District 1 District 1 District 3 District 3 District 3 District 3 District 4
Christopher R. Hansen	Republican Central Committee	District 3
Donald Ferreira Kared "Koa" Young	Republican Central Committee Republican Central Committee Republican Central Committee	District 5 District 5 District 5

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT HEREBY RESOLVED by the Board of Supervisors of the County of Nevada, State of California, that the above listed persons are appointed as members of the Central Committees for which they were nominated and shall receive certificates of election as required by California Elections Code.