

RESOLUTION No. 21-497

OF THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS OF THE COUNTY OF NEVADA

RESOLUTION ACCEPTING THE PROPOSED FOREST RESERVE TITLE III SPENDING PLANS FOR FISCAL YEAR 2021/22 AND FISCAL YEAR 2022/23 IN THE AMOUNT OF \$55,000 AND DIRECTING STAFF TO SCHEDULE A PUBLIC HEARING ON JANUARY 11, 2022, FOR FINAL APPROVAL

WHEREAS, the Secure Rural Schools and Community Self-Determination Act of 2000 (SRS Act) was enacted to provide five years of transitional assistance to rural counties affected by the decline in revenue from timber harvests on federal lands. SRS funding continued to be extended in subsequent years and has currently been funded through Fiscal Year 2021/22 but at diminishing levels with significant restrictions; and

WHEREAS, the County of Nevada has available Forest Reserve Funding for Fiscal Year 2021/22 in the amount of \$27,500 and for Fiscal Year 2022/23 in the amount of \$27,500 for a total award of \$55,000; and

WHEREAS, the Fire Safe Council of Nevada County has submitted a Forest Reserve Fund Title III request plan proposal for consideration; and

WHEREAS, the SRS Act requires that the Nevada County Board of Supervisors hold a 45day public comment period, hold a public hearing, and approve a spending plan.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Board of Supervisors of Nevada County, that the Board of Supervisors hereby directs the Clerk of the Board to publish the Public Hearing Notice to be scheduled for January 11, 2022, for the proposed spend plan from Fire Safe Council of Nevada County for the Forest Reserve Fund Title III for Fiscal Year 2021/22 and Fiscal Year 2022/23.

PASSED AND ADOPTED by the Board of Supervisors of the County of Nevada at a regular meeting of said Board, held on the <u>16th</u> day of <u>November</u>, <u>2021</u>, by the following vote of said Board:

Ayes: Noes:	Supervisors Heidi Hall, Edward Scofield, Dan Miller, Susan K. Hoek and Hardy Bullock. None.
Absent:	None.
Abstain:	None.

ATTEST:

JULIE PATTERSON HUNTER Clerk of the Board of Supervisors

etu Svetunte

11/16/2021 сс:

OES* COB* AC*

Dan Miller, Chair