

## October 24, 2020

To: Ron Hames, Chairman, Alpine County Board of Supervisors Patrick Crew, Chairman, Amador County Board of Supervisors Merita Callaway, Chairwoman, Calaveras County Board of Supervisors Denise Carter, Chairwoman, Colusa County Board of Supervisors Gerry Hemmingsen, Chairman, Del Norte County Board of Supervisors Leigh McDaniel, Chairman, Glenn County Board of Supervisors Matt Kingsley, Chairman, Inyo County Board of Supervisors Bruno Sabatier, Chairman, Lake County Board of Supervisors David Teeter, Chairman, Lassen County Board of Supervisors Kevin Cann, Chairman, Mariposa County Board of Supervisors Elizabeth Cavasso, Chairwoman, Modoc County Board of Supervisors Stacy Corless, Chairwoman, Mono County Board of Supervisors Heidi Hall, Chairwoman, Nevada County Board of Supervisors Kevin Goss, Chairman, Plumas County Board of Supervisors Jaime De La Cruz, Chairman, San Benito County Board of Supervisors Paul Roen, Chairman, Sierra County Board of Supervisors Michael Kobseff, Chairman, Siskiyou County Board of Supervisors Bobbi Chadwick, Chairwoman, Trinity County Board of Supervisors Sherri Brennan, Chairwoman, Tuolumne County Board of Supervisors

From: Paul J. Yoder & Karen Lange, Shaw Yoder Antwih Schmelzer & Lange

## **RE:** CMSP Governing Board - Supervisor Position for Group 1 Counties

As you know, the County Medical Services Program (CMSP) Governing Board is composed of County Supervisors, County Administrative Officers, and county health and welfare officials from the 35 member counties. The Governing Board administers the CMSP program, which provides health care services to indigent adults in the 35 counties.

In fulfillment of its statutory responsibility, the Governing Board has regularized the terms of its Board. The term of the County Supervisor Representative from Group 1 Counties ends on 12/31/20. This position is currently held by County Supervisor Richard Forster of Amador County, who is seeking reelection. Group 1 Counties include the following: Alpine, Amador, Calaveras, Colusa, Del Norte, Glenn, Inyo, Lake, Lassen, Mariposa, Modoc, Mono, Nevada, Plumas, San Benito, Sierra, Siskiyou, Trinity, and Tuolumne.

SYASLpartners.com

An election needs to be held to fill the position designated for a County Supervisor from a Group 1 County for a new term, which begins on 1/1/21 and ends on 12/31/23. The Governing Board has directed our office to conduct the election on behalf of the Board. On October 8, 2020, we solicited interest from each County in Group 1. Richard Forster of Amador County, current CMSP Board member, was the sole respondent with interest to stand as candidate for the position and is seeking reelection to the CMSP Board. However, space is provided on the ballot for write-in candidates should others wish to compete for the position. A ballot and an addressed envelope are enclosed. Please complete and return your ballot by Friday, December 4, 2020. You may also email your completed ballot to SYASLCountyInfo@syaslpartners.com.

Please note, no two Board members from the same CMSP County may serve as members of the <u>Board</u> at the same time. Therefore candidates from Colusa, Lassen, and Glenn counties may not currently seek election.

Should you have any questions regarding this matter, please call (916) 446-4656.

Thank you,

Paul J. Yoder

Legislative Advocate

Karen Lange

Legislative Advocate

CC: Chair and Members, CMSP Governing Board

Kari Brownstein, Administrative Officer Cathy Deubel Salenko, General Counsel