CERTIFICATE OF RECOGNITION Stephen Goldberg

The Board of Supervisors hereby recognizes the generous contribution of volunteer debate team coach Stephen Goldberg to the Nevada Union High School Debate program over the past 23 years. There is a very long list of Nevada Union teachers, administrators, coaches and parents who have spent significant time and energy to support these hard-working and dedicated student debate teams but, throughout the years, there has been one individual at the center of those efforts: staff attorney for Legal Services of Northern California in Sacramento, Mr. Stephen Goldberg.

As a part-time employee of the Nevada Joint Union High School District, Mr. Goldberg donates his stipend back to the debate program. He has been dedicated to educating generations of Nevada Union High School students and, before COVID-19, he drove weekly from Sacramento to Nevada City to provide in-person instruction. During the pandemic he maintained online meetings with students and took them to virtual tournaments. Weekend tournaments are hosted at major colleges across the country, and Nevada Union participates in 15+ of these tournaments each season. Mr. Goldberg also coaches two other high school debate programs in Sacramento, teaches law at American River College, and plays the trombone in two jazz bands.

This school year marked Mr. Goldberg's 23rd year volunteering as Nevada Union High School's debate coach and his most successful year of all. He took four total teams to the esteemed Tournament of Champions, a record-setting achievement, including the partnership of Evelyn Grandfield and Jackson Witt who finished higher than any other team in Nevada Union's history.

The Nevada County Board of Supervisors congratulates debate coach Stephen Goldberg for his dedication to the Nevada Union debate team members' academic excellence, his personal commitment and sacrifice, and all of the hard work that helps to make the Nevada Union Debate program such a resounding success.

_	Dan Miller, Chair	_
Heidi Hall, District I		Ed Scofield, District II
Sue Hoek, District IV		Hardy Bullock, District V